About Us

Renowned Liver Transplant Surgeon Dr. M. R. Rajasekar uses liverindia.com as a platform to educate the people about liver diseases and liver transplantation. Believing strongly in ‘prevention is better than cure’ he advocates preventive strategies in managing liver cirrhosis, and empowers people to be able to make the right choice from treatments available.

Dr.M.R.Rajasekar MS, FRCS (UK), MD (UK), Transplant Fellow (USA)

His fascination for liver transplantation started during his MBBS and MS training in Madras Medical College in Prof N Rangabhashyam’s unit and fueled by the work of Prof. Thomas Starzl, the father of liver transplantation.

After training in Transplantation in the United Kingdom and the University of Chicago Hospitals in the US, wanting to bring this highly skilled lifesaving technique to India, he set up the first Multi organ Transplant programme in New Delhi in 1996. Establishing a state of the art Transplant ICU and Unit, he performed the first successful Liver transplant on Sanjay Kandaswamy, a baby from his hometown Kanchipuram, which was also the first Pediatric and first living-related liver transplant in the country (1998). Sanjay is now 17 years old and has joined MBBS to pursue the field that gave him a new lease of life. The same year he also successfully performed the first cadaver liver transplant in the country. He has to his credit around 640 liver transplants, and has innovated novel surgical techniques in live donor transplantation and to treat complex liver tumors.

He initiated the first movement to promote cadaver organ donation in the country by establishing ‘HOPE Foundation’, an NGO dedicated to promote awareness for organ donation after brain death in New Delhi in 1997. He laid the foundation for sharing of organs in Delhi and intercity organ transfers.

His extensive basic sciences research has been mainly in ‘transplantation tolerance’ with the aim to avoid toxic medications after liver and kidney transplants for which he has also received an ‘MD’ degree from the University of Newcastle upon Tyne.